Andorra: Meal Review

This meal was delayed a few nights, but we finally had a chance to make it on Friday evening.  As the evening of cooking progressed, we realized that ALL FOUR recipes use garlic… so we went through copious amounts of garlic and had wonderful breath when we were done eating.  Three of the four recipes were pretty simple, but we had a lot of struggles with the Trinxat, which made for a long cook time and a big clean up effort after dinner.

Pa amb Tomaquet

This was such a simple and delicious way to dress up a side of bread.  The tomato and garlic flavors were wonderful on a piece of crusty bread.  We will be repeating this in the summer once we have more tomatoes in our garden than we know what to do with.

Pa_amb_Tomaquet

Spinach Salad with Raisins and Pine Nuts

This is the second time in our cooking adventure that I have eaten raisins voluntarily.  I was surprised how much I enjoyed this salad, although or pine nut and raisin to spinach ratio was off.  Next time we will use more spinach or scale back the pine nuts and raisins.  Overall, this had good flavor, was fairly simple, and seemed like a good way to add a side of vegetables to any meal.  There were only two things I didn’t like about this recipe–1. I burned the garlic when adding it to the oil (I think the burner I was using had been on high heat from the Trinxat moments earlier, so I suspect the oil just got too hot), and 2. It didn’t retain heat very well, so it got cold before I could finish eating.

Andorra_spinach salad

Trinxat

This was the most unique dish we selected for this country.  Ours didn’t turn out anything like the pictures I saw, and it evoked polarized opinions in our household.  The cabbage taste and texture, along with the bacon fat flavor, was just too much for me.  I ate about half of mine before I gave up.  Tyler, on the other hand, loved it.  He has been powering through the leftovers for breakfast since Friday!

trinxat_with_bacon

Catalan style Trout

This recipe was another winner.  I am not a huge seafood person, but I generally like fish.  I had heard that trout can have a lot of bones to pick through, but I didn’t encounter any.  The trout had good flavor, and the prosciutto topping was a wonderful addition.  I wouldn’t have though to combine prosciutto with garlic, lemon juice, and parsley, but the flavors were great together.  I would make this again, and I would also consider using the prosciutto topping with other types of fish, with chicken, or on pasta.

Andorra_trout_finished

The finished product:

Andorra_meal

Leave a Reply

